Colorado’s “Chain Law” Begins Next Week, Non-Compliance Could Cost You $1,000
Denver, CO – Colorado’s “Chain Law” officially begins next week and here’s what you need to know to be prepared.
From September 1, 2020 through May 31, 2021, all commercial motor vehicles (CMVs) traveling on Interstate 70 between mile markers 133 and 259 are required to “carry sufficient chains to be in compliance” with the chain law, according to the Colorado Department of Transportation (CODOT).
CODOT states metal chains must consist of two circular metal loops, one on each side of the tire, connected by not less than nine evenly-spaced chain loops across the tread.
CMVs that have four or more drive wheels must chain four wheels.
Dual tire chains are acceptable.
Chains are not required for trailers.
Whenever the chain law is deemed necessary to go into effect, CODOT says motorists will be notified via electronic message signs (pictured above), 511 traveler information, local media and online at COTrip.org.
Chain-up stations are located at the following:
• I-70 Eastbound: Mileposts 178, 183, 184 (shoulder), 187 (shoulder), 195, 203 (scenic area), 205, 219, 228, 241, 251, 289, 343
• I-70 Westbound: Mileposts 358, 263, 260, 254 (Buffalo Overlook), 228, 223, 221, 219, 213, 197, 179
• I-25 Northbound: Milepost 159
• I-25 Southbound: Milepost 172
The fine for non-compliance between September 1 and May 31 is $50 plus a $17 surcharge.
The fine for not chaining up when the chain law is in effect is $500 plus a $79 surcharge.
Additionally, blocking the highway as a result of not chaining up when the chain law is in effect will cost you a whopping $1,000 plus a $157 surcharge.