Face Mask Mandates in California Threaten Violators With Imprisonment and $1,000 Fine

Los Angeles, CA – Truckers traveling in or through Los Angeles, CA, and multiple surrounding counties, will soon be required to wear a face mask or covering while in public.

A new Executive Order issued on Tuesday, April 7, by Los Angeles mayor Eric Garcetti requires all essential workers to wear a face mask or covering while performing his or her duties as a means to slow the spread of COVID-19.

The order includes truckers as they are deemed “essential.”




 

Essential, non-medical workers are asked not to use medical-grade masks or N95 respirators, but rather, fabric coverings, such as scarves and bandanas.

“All essential, non-medical workers required to wear these face coverings must frequently (at least once a day) wash any reusable face coverings, for the health and safety of themselves and others,” the order states. “Single-use face coverings must be properly discarded into trash receptacles.”

Residents are also required to wear a mask or a face covering when visiting essential businesses.

Additionally, the order permits owners of such businesses to disallow entry or service to anyone not wearing a face mask or covering.




 

Business owners are also required to provide a mask or face covering to employees and allow them to wash their hands at least every 30 minutes.

Similar orders have also been recently issued in the surrounding counties of San Bernardino and Riverside Counties.

In San Bernardino, those who do not comply could face fines of up to $1,000 per violation and even 90 days in jail.

While violators in Riverside could also face imprisonment and/or a fine of $1,000, Riverside Sheriff Chad Bianco indicated earlier this week he had no intent to create a “police state.”

“This is a valid order and enforceable by fine, imprisonment or both,” he said. “However, I need to make it perfectly clear to all residents of Riverside County we will not be setting up a police state and this is not a declaration of martial law in Riverside County.”


LATEST COVID-19 NEWS

ALERT: Truckers Must Complete COVID-19 Travel Declaration When Entering Utah

FMCSA Extends and Expands Emergency Hours of Service Waiver

More States Open Parking to Truckers at Scale Houses and Rest Areas

Trucking Schools, Mega Carriers Say Urgent Action Needed on CDL Testing Amid Pandemic


Under Mayor Garcetti’s order, anyone found not complying with the directive will be subject to a misdemeanor and a $1,000 fine.

The order becomes effective at 12:01 a.m. on Friday, April 10, and will remain so until May 1.




 

Mayor Garcetti indicated it could be extended.

Earlier this month, city leaders in Laredo, TX, were the first to institute such a policy requiring a face mask or covering to be worn.

Read more about that story HERE.
Photo courtesy Brad James Wright

 


FOLLOW TNN ON FACEBOOK & TWITTER


If you enjoyed this article, please help us grow by sharing it. Thank you!

SHARE YOUR COMMENTS



Pin It on Pinterest

Share This