List of States Threatening Fines and Imprisonment For Not Wearing Face Masks is Growing

Little Rock, AR – A growing list of States are requiring facial coverings under penalty of steep fines and even imprisonment, so it’s important for truckers to know which ones they are.

As of Tuesday, April 21, a total of six States are currently requiring face masks or facial coverings to be worn while in public.

These States include: Connecticut, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, and Rhode Island.


In addition to these statewide orders, a host of municipalities around the nation have also instituted similar policies.

For instance, on the West Coast places in California such as Los Angeles, Carson, Long Beach, San Bernardino County, and Orange County are under facial covering orders.

On the East Coast, multiple cities in Massachusetts have also instituted facial covering laws including cites such as Medford, Salem and Beverly.

In the South, a growing number of cities and municipalities in Texas are requiring facial coverings including places such as Laredo, as well as Hidalgo County.

States with at least one locality requiring facial coverings include California, Florida, Hawaii, Massachusetts, Michigan, North Carolina, Oklahoma and Texas.


Transportation Nation Network (TNN) recently filed a report about what is happening to one Texas truck stop which is being forced to enforce such policies under threats to be shut down by city leaders.

Read more on this story HERE.

TNN was the first to break the news of the first such facial covering law which occurred last month in Laredo, TX.

Leaders threatened a $1,000 fine, but newer orders in States such as California and New York threaten imprisonment.


Truckers Block Houston Highway in Protest of “Cheap Brokers,” 75 Cited and 1 Arrested

FMCSA Eases Requirements for States to Report Disqualified Drivers

Mega Broker’s Top Executives See Pay Slashed Due to COVID-19 Recession

Petitions Demanding Better Treatment of Truckers Amid COVID-19 Pandemic Gain Support

As more mayors and governors have enacted stricter shelter-in-place orders, the list continues to grow.

Now, Canadian officials are following suit.

Last week, the Public Health Agency of Canada announced all cross-border truckers are required to wear a facial covering or face an up to $750,000 fine or a term of six months in jail.


“As our knowledge about COVID-19 evolves, we continue to adjust our response to this epidemic,” said Patty Hajdu, the Minister of Health.

Truckers are required to “wear an appropriate mask or face covering upon entry into Canada and while in transit, and should otherwise respect the intent of the Order to minimize the spread of COVID-19 in Canada.”



If you enjoyed this article, please help us grow by sharing it. Thank you!


Pin It on Pinterest

Share This