Meet the First Five Members of the American Trucking and Industry Leader Hall of Fame

Kansas City, MO — In celebration of its 50th year, American Truck Historical Society (ATHS) members and guests recently gathered for the official opening and ribbon cutting of the American Trucking and Industry Leader (ATIL) Hall of Fame.

The event took place on October 15 at ATHS headquarters in Kansas City, MO.


“The ATIL Hall of Fame and ATHS Visitor Center celebrate the accomplishments and contributions of the professional truck driver and industry leaders,” said Tom Mullen, ATIL Hall of Fame Chair. “The American trucking industry provides for the needs of our great nation and is deserving of this recognition.”

ATHS honored four individuals and one company as the inaugural inductees of the ATIL Hall of Fame.


They are as follows:

• Clessie Lyle Cummins (1888-1968), founder of the Cummins Engine Co.
• John “Jack” Mack (1864-1924), co-founder of Mack Trucks, Inc.
• Augustus “Gus” Mack (1873-1940), co-founder of Mack Trucks, Inc.
• Dave Nemo, trucking radio host
• The Owner-Operator Independent Drivers Association (OOIDA)

Nemo attended and participated in the ribbon cutting ceremony, along with representatives from Cummins, Mack and OOIDA.

Pictured L-R: Inaugural ATIL Hall of Fame Inductees Dave Nemo, Jeff Oldham, vice president for Mack Trucks’ central region (accepting for Mack Trucks founders John “Jack” and Augustus “Gus” Mack), Amy Boerger, vice president of the Cummins North American Business (accepting for Clessie Lyle Cummins) and Todd Spencer, president of OOIDA (accepting on behalf of OOIDA).

“The ATIL Hall of Fame is as much about going into the future as it is looking at the past,” Nemo commented. “It’s about the equipment, the trucks, it’s about the history, the iron – but it really boils down to the people. The people who make them. The people who drive them. The people who sell them. The people who service them. ATIL Hall of Fame is going to be all-inclusive of the trucking industry.”


OOIDA president Todd Spencer called the ATIL Hall of Fame ceremony a “celebration of people working together to overcome all kinds of odds to make our country what it is today.”

“To really appreciate truckers and the role that trucking plays in all of our lives no matter what we do, it’s important to add some perspective on how things evolved through the years, the sacrifices made, and how things worked to keep our store shelves stocked,” Spencer stated as he accepted the award on behalf of OOIDA.

Incorporated in 1971, ATHS was formed to preserve the history of trucks, the trucking industry, and its pioneers.

Today, the association boasts a collection of more than 100,000 photographs, 35,000 pieces of sales literature, 45,000 books and periodicals, along with a vast collection of scale models and trucking memorabilia.

If you enjoyed this article, please help us grow by sharing it. Thank you!


Pin It on Pinterest

Share This