Ricky Rude Drives Away With 2018 Bandit Series Championship

Elko New Market, Minnesota – The 2018 Bandit Big Rig Series came to a close yesterday at Elko Speedway as the Bandits completed their last race of the year.

For the second consecutive year #14 Ricky Rude drove away with the title of Grand Champion. Rude, an accomplished big rig racer, won the overall points championship for the second time in as many years.

“The only way you get this trophy is to have respect from every Bandit here,” Rude said after accepting the championship trophy. “I try to give respect back. You get what you give,” he said. Rude culminated the season yesterday by finishing 2nd in the featured race behind “Rookie Of The Year” #74 Mark Noble. Rude’s 2nd place finish was more than enough to give him the overall series crown. Rude took home 3 wins and 7 top five finishes on his way to this year’s championship.


Noble burst onto the scene in 2018. As a rookie, he finished second in the overall points standings with 7 top five finishes. He finally got that elusive first win yesterday at Elko Speedway. It’s a remarkable overall finish for a rookie, but Noble says he is just happy to be racing. “It was great,” Noble said of being a Bandit. “I didn’t know what I was missing all these years. I’m just thankful to be here.”

Rounding out the top 5 overall points finishers was #3 Alan Boles in fifth place, #54 Tyler Kruckeberg in fourth place, and #17 Justin Ball came in third place.

WATCH: Truckerville: Battle Of The Bandits!Captain Greg Myhre and the Truckerville Road Crew are giving you an all-access pass inside the Bandit Big Rig Racing Series! You will never see big trucks the same way again. We’ll introduce you to one of the most successful big rig racers in the world. Plus we’ll take you inside a race and show it to you like only Truckerville can.

The Bandit Series gave fans an opportunity to make their voices heard by voting on their “Favorite Bandit” and “Favorite Truck” via the series’ official website. Good friend and supporter of Transportation Nation Network, Mike Morgan and the now legendary #88 Mackvader, proudly took home both awards. Morgan had a challenging year with numerous setbacks, and though he wasn’t able to get into the top 5, Morgan was thrilled to be voted the favorite by the fans. “It’s all about the fans,” Morgan said in accepting his awards. “We’ve created something here that’s pretty cool. It’s just amazing how big this thing has blown up in the short amount of time it’s been here,” he said. Craig Kruckeberg, founder of The Bandit Series, called Morgan “one of the best ambassadors” of the series.

The Bandit Series will be back next year, but you can relive each moment of racing by visiting The Bandit Series channel right here on TransportationNation.com and watching each of the live stream race broadcasts. Plus, you will find other exclusive driver profiles and behind-the-scenes videos. Watch the 2018 Bandit Awards presentation HERE.

Congratulations to all of the Bandits on a great year! We are looking forward to 2019.

If you enjoyed this article, please help us grow by sharing it. Thank you!


Pin It on Pinterest

Share This